What does Caldicot Town Council do?

Caldicot Town Council serve the residents of Caldicot and are responsible for a number of assets and facilities, which includes Dewstow Cemetery, Jubilee Way Toilets, King George V Playing Fields, Allotment sites and Dog Waste Bins.

The Town Council plays a vital role in supporting the work of different groups in the community.

Caldicot Town Council has 17 councillors. The Mayor and Deputy Mayor are elected at the annual meeting in May.

The town is divided into five wards - Castle, Dewstow, Green Lane, Severn and West End, with each having 3-4 Councillors. 

Town Council meet monthly at 6.30pm (last Wednesday of each month - except August and December), Planning & Resources Committee meet monthly at 6.30pm (second Tuesday of each month), meetings are held in the Council Offices, Sandy Lane, Caldicot.

All meetings are open to the public and there is an opportunity for the public to contribute, to matters on the agenda.  

Agendas are published on the Town Council website, other committees include Grants, Health and Safety and Personnel.

Monmouthshire County Council is responsible for services including education, health and social services, leisure, refuse and recycling, street cleaning, highways - both roads and pavements – street lighting and libraries.

Monmouthshire Council can be contacted by telephone, email or popping into the local hub/library